The Telkom Centre of Excellence in Distributed Multimedia was established in March 1997 at Rhodes University with Telkom SA as the anchor industry funding partner. The current industrial partners include established market leaders as well as newcomers,namely Telkom SA, GENBAND, Tellabs/CORIANT, Easttel and Bright Ideas Project 39. From the outset, the Centre was registered as a THRIP (Technology & Human Resources for Industry Programme) project, with the aim of attracting matching financial support from the government department of Trade & Industry.



The University of Fort Hare Telkom Centre of Excellence in Information and Communication Technology for Development (ICTD) is a research unit hosted within the the Department of Computer Science.The research focus of the centre is on the use of computing technology for socio-economic development of marginalized and rural communities. The field-site of our research is a rural community in the vicinity of the Dwesa Nature Reserve in the Eastern Cape province of South Africa. In 2014, the Centre is supported by  Telkom, Tellabs/ CORIANT, Saab Grintek Technologies, Easttel and Khula Technologies.


The Finnish and South African governments are partnering to enhance the country's innovation system through the Cooperation Framework on Innovation Systems between Finland and South (COFISA). The overall objective of the COFISA Programme is to enhanced the effectiveness of the South African National System of Innovation contributing to economic growth and poverty alleviation.

The South African Government, through the Department of Science and Technology, has been actively engaged with the Government of Finland, through the Ministry for Foreign Affairs, in a programme, South Africa-Finland Knowledge Partnership on ICT (SAFIPA). The overall objective of the programme is to support the creation of an environment which facilitates the development and deployment of ICT service applications for the benefit of South African citizens. Thus the programme is addressing the creation and delivery models of ICT based service applications which are suitable for local conditions especially in the most vulnerable parts of population.

e-Yethu is the Grahamstown Schools' Project and is a joint venture between the Telkom Centre of Excellence and the Education Department at Rhodes University. The project aims to support schools in Grahamstown in the realm of ICT as much as possible.

The Ikamva National e-Skills Institute (iNeSI) leads in the creation of key e-skills development strategies, solutions and practices within South Africa. It is a national catalyst, collaborator, facilitator and responsive change agent in the development of SA. The intention is to benefit the total population by harnessing ICT for equitable prosperity and global competitiveness. iNeSI focuses primarily on five components: knowledge for innovation (research), e-astuteness (teaching and learning), multi-stakeholder collaboration, innovation, and aggregation (monitoring and evaluation framework). The e-skills knowledge production and coordination CoLabs are the iNeSI presence at a provincial level. In the Eastern Cape, this is the Eastern Cape e-Skills CoLab: ICT for Rural Development, based at Walter Sisulu University.



User login